School PD Requirements in Delaware
What professional development requirements does a school in Delaware need to meet?
Delaware Code requires school personnel to complete 12. 5 hours of approved non-academic training over a three-year period. The requirements fall into 4 categories areas:
- Child Abuse and Child Safety Awareness, Prevention, Detection & Reporting (NAMC-CSA) – Minimum requirement is 3 hours over the 3 year period. See specific requirements below.
- School Bullying Awareness & Prevention; Criminal Youth Gang Detection (NAMC-BG) – Minimum requirement is 3 hours over the 3 year period.
- Teen Dating Violence & Sexual Assault Awareness and Prevention (NAMC-TD) – See specific requirements below.
- Suicide Prevention (NAMC-SP) – Annual requirement of at least 90 minutes.
What are the Professional Learning Standards in Delaware?
Delaware aligns to the Every Student Succeeds Act definition of professional learning:
The term ‘professional development’ means activities that are an integral part of school and local educational agency strategies for providing educators with knowledge and skills necessary to enable students to succeed in a well-rounded education, meeting the challenging State academic standards; and are sustained, intensive, collaborative, job-embedded, data-driven, and classroom-focused.
How do I get free clock hours for teachers in my school?
Looking for online continuing education for one educator?
Check out 100% online PD at RenewaTeachingLicense.com!
How do I contact the DE Department of Education?
Contact the Delaware Department of Education
The Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901-3639
Disclaimer: Please ensure the information and courses meet requirements for your school and circumstances and align with what your state Department of Education requires. The new continuing education information and school PD requirements in Delaware listed on this page are current as of July 7th, 2021 to meet the best information available. State professional development requirements and may change and it is your responsibility as a school administrator to know your state staff development requirements and the process for submission and approval of all professional and staff development hours. Professional Learning Board can not guarantee acceptance by your school, district, state Department of Education or local authority.